Day of Disappointment

I let myself down

I let my ego get the best of me

Now I’m here mending fences

Fixing bridges that I burned down

***

I know I did not help

I did myself a disservice

But I guess I thought I knew better

Am I wrong for wanting the best?

***

I set the bar high

When I missed and felt my hands slip

My heart sunk into my chest

I nearly drowned in a sea of numbness

 ***

So after taking a moment to let it sink in

To let my body soak in the mistakes I made

A fire was lit in my belly

I could feel it visibly inside of me

 ***

Emotions took over

I didn’t think it through

I should have calculated my moves

Like a professional chess champion would

***

This day is one of stress and frustration

It’s a minor setback I assure you

I won’t let defeat take me

If I did I wouldn’t be standing tall today

***

Failure doesn’t last forever

I guarantee I will come back stronger

Watch as I claim what is rightfully mine

I will someday, once again, conquer

2 thoughts on “Day of Disappointment

Speak your mind!

