Writing Related Things I Suck At

Because let’s be honest, I love writing, but I’m not great at it. There are some things I absolutely suck at. Do you hear the modesty in my voice right now? Humble should be my middle name.

  • I can’t show; I usually tell. Telling is ten billion times easier than showing.
  • I spend too muchΒ time thinking (and not enough writing). Like a lot of time is devoted to thinking. Hours, days, years.
  • I’m not spontaneous. I have many friends. Surprises aren’tΒ one of them.
  • I’m not extremely original or creative. If I ever shareΒ some of my old pieces on here, you’ll understand.
  • I don’t practice what I preach. Never have, never will.
47 thoughts on “Writing Related Things I Suck At

      1. Occasionally I can write during my lunch break at work, but if someone else is in the room, I can’t concentrate. I can write late at night if I’m awake enough.

  1. You just described me to a tee. One thing about telling and not showing is you can always go back and show (develop) your writing. Thank you for sharing this. Now I know I am not the only writer that shares these issues.

  2. I tend to tell a lot, too. It is easier. My first drafts consist of me literally spelling the entire plot out to the reader. I think showing gets easier through the edits because you have the chance to look at each paragraph and sentence individually.

  3. 1. That’s what editing is for πŸ˜‰ Here’s a tip: it really is okay to “tell” things – except when you’re describing how someone feels. An easy way to fix this error is to do a search for every time “he feels/felt” appears in your manuscript and see if you can’t show it instead of telling it.

    2. I think all writers are this way. That meditation time will improve your work in the long run, and cut down on how many drafts you’ll have to plow through.

    3. I’m not spontaneous either, but I don’t see how that makes a bad writer. πŸ™‚ If anything, it keeps us focused.

    4. Few things are original. Lord of The Rings is Star Wars is Harry Potter. I believe that formulas exist for a reason, but what you really should be avoiding are cliches. Follow the formula, but go the opposite of where your mind *wants* you to go. Your mind wants your hero to save the princess? Make the hero a girl and the princess a prince, and maybe have the prince turn out to be an evil douche who doesn’t deserve saving (and I think I just described Frozen, lol). Eventually it’ll be second nature to toss out your first couple of thoughts and go in the unexpected direction. James Scott Bell’s book ‘Plot and Structure’ really helped me feel more “original” with methods like that.

    5. Knowing the right advice is half the battle!

    1. I agree. The easy part is writing. Editing is an entirely different process. Yeah, I’ve been working on that. He is sad or she’s feeling angry isn’t great writing.
      Yep as long as we’re able to write something after all that contemplation.
      I guess I just like knowing everything that’ll happen before it happens.
      Oh, I’m working on avoiding every cliche out there. Sometimes it’s easier to stick one in my writing and edit it out later. Hahaha. Mmhmm yeah after tons of practice, it’ll be. Okay thanks for sharing. I’ll have to check his book out someday.
      Ha, I still have half a battle to fight. πŸ˜›

  4. I agree with ALL of the above… for you, that is. πŸ˜›

    “O’ Lord it hard to be humble when you’re perfect in every way!…” My fav song, πŸ˜€

  5. I can so totally absolutely relate to that. ESPECIALLY the part about thinking too much. Seriously, I spent an inordinate amount of time *thinking* about starting a blog before I did; *thinking* about whether or not to post any one particular piece of writing (and never before a gazillion edits related to, you’ve guessed it, more thoughts). It’s a huge relief to see someone struggle with such similar obstacles, so thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    1. I’m so glad to hear that you can relate. It’s nice to know I’m not alone. Mhm I think writers think a lot. Sometimes we just have to act without over thinking or over analyzing the situation. You are very welcome. Thank you!

Speak your mind!

