Blogging 101: Introduce Yourself to the World

Surprise, I signed up for Blogging 101. I have multiple reasons for doing so, but I won’t get into them today. This post would be exceedingly long if I did.

Today’s assignment is to write a post explaining who I am and why I’m here. Maybe I should have done a post like this about two years ago. But better late than never, right?

Most of you know my name is Herminia Chow. I’m seventeen. You can usually find me burying my nose in a book, creating strange stories, or publishing new posts. When I’m not, I’m thinking about reading, writing, or blogging.

Occasionally dancing.

There are a few other things you should know about me.

I am easily bored. I like being busy. For me, school wasn’t and still isn’t extremely challenging. Being a blogger seemed sort of neat. Back when I started in April 2013, I didn’t think I would like blogging as much as I do now. If you asked me then whether I thought I would still be blogging today, I would have asked if you were crazy.

I used to be so giddy about blogging. Like a girl madly in love. Which is an accurate simile. I’m not someone who throws the word love around too often, although some may beg to differ. When I say I love blogging, I mean it.

This blog is public instead of private or password-protected because why the heavens not? I like attention after all. That’s a joke. On a serious note, I want to feel like I’m making a difference. Like I’m helping someone, somehow. I like to think I have a tiny bit of knowledge and if I can use that to change just one person’s life to some degree, I’ve accomplished what I set out to do. After about two years strong and countless comments, I like to think I have at least put a smile on someone’s face or made somebody laugh a little.

This isn’t shocking: I blog mainly about writing, blogging, and reading. Now I wish I could be more specific. The thing is, most of the time whatever my mind comes up with, that’s the post for the day. You can visit my previous posts if you’d like.

Blogging I’ve realized is different from writing in many ways. Don’t get me wrong, they have some similarities. The connections I’ve made as a blogger have been incredible. I love communicating my thoughts, opinions, and ideas on WordPress more than any other platform out there. (No bias there. It’s the truth.)

In the beginning, I wanted to connect with individuals I wouldn’t have met otherwise. Most of you are from various parts of the world with different walks of life. Also, most of the students at my high school don’t like books, blogs, and words as much as I do. So it’s nice to meet people who have the same interests as me. I’m grateful every day for every single interaction. Thank you.

I hope I can continue to blog as frequently as possible and interact with more bloggers in the future.

6 thoughts on “Blogging 101: Introduce Yourself to the World

  1. Great post! To be honest, I keep wanted to sign up for that, but time always gets away from me. However, if anyone is going to sign up and wrote posts like that, it should be you.

  2. First off, thanks for the likes. I thought of changing my name to Nobody Reads Me but then you and a handful (about 2! lol) have inspired me to write more.
    This post is just awesome! ~to ,eet people with the same interest~ is the key.
    Read on! Write more!
    Cheers.

Speak your mind!

