How You Know You Are A Writer

You talk.

You talk to yourself.

You talk to yourself in public.

You talk to yourself in public and not get caught.

You talk to yourself in public and get caught just once.

You talk to yourself in public even though people might think you’re weird.

You talk to yourself in public even though people might think you’re weird but who cares what anyone thinks. Your beautiful self should not be fretting over what someone says or thinks.

You write. You love it unconditionally.

42 thoughts on “How You Know You Are A Writer

  1. Yup. I’ve done this. Whenever I walk alone, I’m often thinking about what I’m going to write, and I get the dialogue going through my mind. I start saying the lines, and occasionally someone notices. Though I try to do it when no one is around.

  2. I’m too shy to do this in public, but I’ve been doing this in private pretty much all my life. I’ll run around the house, act out scenes, etc. Only in adulthood did anyone hint that such behavior is not “normal” πŸ˜›

  3. I relate! Except for this: My “talking out loud” is more like “mumbling under my breath.” Drives my husband crazy! But doesn’t bother me a bit.
    Excellent post!
    Elouise

  4. I don’t always talk to myself out loud and not usually in public, but my brain is pretty much a nonstop chatterbox. I was just pontificating about this recently because I feel like a lot of potential insight or writing material is lost because it just sort of bangs around in my head while I’m busy doing other things…instead of just stopping to jot down enough to remember the most salient point until I can sit down to deal with it in more detail.

    1. Aha you’re thinking all the time! What a shame to lose out on all those insights and ideas. Try to get them down as quickly as possible. If anything you can come back to those points later when you have more time.

Speak your mind!

