Going To School To Become A Writer

Today I said I was going to pursue writing further in university. The reply to my remark was an interesting one.

Someone told me you don’t go to school to become a writer.

And I completely agree.

Obviously I am not going to university to become a writer. Writing is not the only subject I’ll be studying either. In fact, Writing and Rhetoric will be one of my two minors.

You are not a writer if you do not write. So start writing and don’t stop.

12 thoughts on “Going To School To Become A Writer

  1. Universities can be excellent places to learn how to write, but you don’t have to be an English or Creative Writing major in order to gain those skills. Most schools open these types of courses to non-majors who are interested in writing creatively (though Creative Writing majors might have first dibs.) So I agree that if you want to be a writer, you don’t have a degree in “Writing” in order to be successful.

    1. Exactly. Many writers don’t have degrees in creative writing or English. That doesn’t mean they can’t write well. I’m still excited I’ll be able to access the Writing Centre at my school. Being a writer and taking some writing courses has some perks. 🙂

  2. This post would certainly make me feel insecure if I majored in Writing. I don’t though. But I used to think about it. I finally decided not to because I completely agree with your post.

    1. Mhm it doesn’t mean someone shouldn’t study creative writing in school. I just don’t want anyone to believe they have to major in a certain discipline to become a writer.

  3. I’m glad you made a decision! I agree, though. The only way to learn to be a writer is if you keep writing every day. It’s one of those things that no one can teach you, you need to learn on your own. No one can grade creativity. 😉

  4. I wholeheartedly agree 🙂 I think the best writers are those who can’t help but write, no matter what occupation they elect. They’re the ones who live for interesting experiences, who like to meet interesting people, who are always looking for something to spark the muse. In fact, I think it’s a good idea to make your career/expertise something *other* than writing, as it gives you some broader perspective into the world. Kathy Reichs writes novels about forensic anthropology because only SHE, as a certified forensic anthropologist, can write those books. I like writing a lot about aerospace because I worked at NASA for awhile, so I have a unique perspective that other writers don’t have the opportunity to gain. If I majored in writing, all I would know to write about is…well, writing! And obviously, if you go this route, you still want to pick something you enjoy – be it Journalism, Criminal Justice, etc. Something that will inspire you.

    I do think university is a good place to take some writing classes too, or maybe minor in writing/English. Many of your professors may be published authors and there’s a lot you can learn from them about the publishing world, genre, writing style, grammar, etc. I greatly enjoyed taking a Screenwriting class in undergrad, as well as a Creative Writing class with author Bret Lott.

    1. Yeah true. Most writers aren’t just writers. They have knowledge on subjects completely unrelated to writing too.
      I do plan on taking some writing courses and establishing contacts with professors or other writers. It’ll be an interesting experience to see what I can glean from everyone I meet. That sounds awesome.

  5. Well…I think you have the fire in you–the one you have if you just keep writing and thinking about writing and what you’ll write next. Congratulations on getting near the next stage of your journey! What I like about your writing is your ability to be personal, even ‘in your face,’ without being rude or putting people down.
    Elouise

Speak your mind!

