Word Counts

I hate being below the required word count as much as I hate being higher.

Who even invented word counts in the first place? I’d like to have a word or two with that person.

Let’s just do away with words counts. I can say with complete confidence that no harm will be done. No one will miss it. Well, I won’t.

Besides I’ll write as much as I think is necessary.

Right now, I am below the word counts for all my papers and essays. It worries me. I wasn’t lying when I said I worry and worry and worry.

16 thoughts on “Word Counts

  1. I agree when you say you should write as much as necessary. I’m assuming this is for a paper at school and not a novel, but when it comes to novel I love being over my word count… it makes me feel productive, lol.

  2. I agree also – sometimes you may not have to use many words to get your point across, but I know word counts for school papers can be a pain in the butt. My suggestion is have someone else read your paper and tell you if there are places you could add more detail.

  3. Fortunately or unfortunately, I never had a problem hitting the word count. Actually, I got marked down occasionally for writing too much in school! But most of my friends had troubles with this. I think it’s actually a good thing. Brevity is the soul of wit. Isn’t that a phrase? You know what to say and can say it succinctly. I admire that!

  4. It’s important when a particular word count is required for a term paper or something… I always hated it. That’s probably why I don’t like nano and why I don’t concern myself with how long my next book it going to be. It will be what it will be. Quite frankly, long works are over-rated and get quite tedious to read. If it’s long, it better not be less than brilliant and perfect!

      1. Yeah, like, could you make your response a little longer next time, say around 597 words or something? 😛

Speak your mind!

