Lawyer Or Journalist?

Some people think I want to be a lawyer. Others think I want to be a journalist.

In truth, I don’t want to be either. Would I survive as a lawyer or a journalist? Could I be one or the other for the rest of my life? Probably not.

Would I survive as a lawyer or a journalist? Could I be either for the rest of my life? Probably not to both questions.

Am I really that unclear about what I love to do and what I aspire to be?

Maybe I’m giving off the wrong vibes.

Because I’m never writing in a notebook. And I’m never posting on my blogs.

But I am sarcastic.

14 thoughts on “Lawyer Or Journalist?

  1. As long as you are clear about what it is you want to do. Unfortunately, in life others are always trying to place people in a box. So many of us lose sight of what we really want to pursue in this life.

  2. Even if you liked law, I would strongly advise against it. Everyone I know who went to law school – except one girl who had a VERY detailed plan about majoring in tribal law and working for a Native American tribe – has struggled greatly to find work. The market is super oversaturated. There just aren’t enough jobs, and law school is so expensive that it’s difficult to cope with the debt if you can’t actually use the degree.

    Stick with journalism, if it’s a choice between the two 😉 Or anything else you fancy.

    1. It’s funny because a lot of people (the ones I know anyway) want to go to law school. They think they’ll have a steady job and incredible money afterwards. But I agree with you a hundred and ten percent. I think law school is much harder than these people make it out to be and being a lawyer is even tougher. I’ll remember that. 🙂

  3. My cousin in New Zealand is a trained lawyer, but now owns her own cupcake store. (And she’s, like, really really cool.) If you want to train to be a lawyer, perhaps you find it interesting etc., it’s not the end of the world if you decide it’s not your career!
    But basically do whatever the hell you want and don’t listen to what other people think. I wanted to do a pure Creative Writing course at uni but my mum persuaded me to combine it with English Lit. Will I enjoy it as much? I don’t really know! I guess it’ll be fun to find out. And probably more likely to get me a decent job, tbh.

    1. Oh she sounds cool. Law and cupcakes. That’s a good life. 😛 Exactly. Many lawyers start as something else or switch into law afterwards.
      I will do exactly that. I think you’ll enjoy it. You’ll be doing plenty of writing and reading. Have fun and enjoy university!

Speak your mind!

