Books That Have Changed Your Life

Obviously I don’t know which books have changed your life, but I know mine. It’s about time I start doing more book related posts and I might as well reflect on my life while I’m at it. Besides I am who I am today largely because of books.

By no means is this an exhaustive list or else we’d be here forever. Also why would anyone want to be on my blog for that long?

This intro sounded much better in my head.

Below are a few of many books that have changed my life…for the better, of course.

The Maze Runner (series) by James Dashner

Diversity and representation. Enough said. Dashner did a WICKED job with everything else as well if you know what I mean.

The Maze Runner (series)-James Dashner

Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson

It was a recommendation from a teacher. I think I was in grade five. Ten-year-old me loved it. I’d love to reread it in my retirement. The book did something to me. I can’t explain it. Sorry not sorry.

The Giver by Lois Lowry

I had to read this for school, but that didn’t ruin my enjoyment of the book whatsoever. Another story I would reread. I’m starting to think most of the books on this list are in my reread list. I didn’t realize I even had a list until now. Thanks goes to my subconscious mind.

Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

The. Ending. Though.

Carrie by Stephen King

King is in a category of his own. So is Carrie.

House Rules/Nineteen Minutes/The Pact by Jodi Picoult

All her books are incredible and worth reading, but these ones, in particular, hit me the hardest. They’ll continue to stay with me.The Pact-Jodi Picoult

Don’t lie to me. I know books have changed your life as well.

8 thoughts on “Books That Have Changed Your Life

  1. This is a good post idea. It’s hard to pin-point which books have left an impact and which haven’t. There are so many good ones. Of Mice and Men was one of those books that I thought I wasn’t going to enjoy (I had to read it for school back in 9th grade), but I actually liked it a lot. And I agree with you: the ending though.
    I had to do a project for the book and I remember I decided to write a new ending for it. 🙂

  2. Oh, books have changed my life in SO many ways. The first one being Anne of Green Gables. That series will always be my favorite. After that, I loved 1984 (a school read), Bridge to Terabithia (I’m with you, there. It DID something to me, and I can’t describe it), Flowers for Algernon (another school book, but I adore it!), and The Third Eye by Lois Duncan. Oh man. Those stand out the most to me, but I know there are a ZILLION other books that have affected my life. Great post! I love the bookish theme! 🙂

    1. Yeah! It’s been forever since I’ve read Anne of Green Gables. On my own I read and loved Orwell’s Animal Farm so having to read 1984 for school didn’t seem so bad. Hm I haven’t read the others you mentioned, but I’ll be sure to check them out. Exactly. There are many books I left out on this list. Thanks. It’ll be around for a while. 🙂

Speak your mind!

