Why You Should Write

Don’t listen to me. What do I know?

  1. Write so you can vent about how much people suck. The human race never ceases to disappoint. 
  2. Write to acknowledge your intelligence. Contrary to what you may believe, you don’t appreciate your mind enough. 
  3. Write your own jokes. And then proceed to laugh at them because indeed you are one hilarious human being. 
  4. Write so you can sleep at night. Or so you don’t wake up in the middle of the night because you feel guilty.
  5. Write to quiet those voices in your head. Don’t pretend like you don’t know what I’m talking about. 
  6. Write your own book. Then shove that in the faces of everyone who said you couldn’t do it. 

What are you waiting for? Get writing.

16 thoughts on “Why You Should Write

  1. Oh, I am!! Just took a break to catch up on blogs. And I’m writing for every one of those reasons. Mostly because I love it and it keeps me sane.
    Also because an ex-boyfriend told me he had a better chance of winning the lottery than I did of getting published. I can’t wait to one day wave my book in his face.

  2. Great post, Herminia! I would like to confirm that I write so I can write my own jokes and then laugh at myself. I once wrote an amazing pun about Orlando Bloom which nearly made me cry with laughter. Fantastic.

Speak your mind!

