How I Feel About Book Recommendations‏

I can dedicate an entire post on book recommendations, so I’m doing exactly that.

Giving book recommendations:

I give because people ask. Also, I’m predisposed to philanthropy because I am generous by nature. Ask anybody who has had the pleasure of benefitting from one of my many unselfish acts. That being said I don’t expect everyone to love what I love or dislike what I dislike.

As a side note, I’ve acquired different tastes over the years. So a book I enjoyed three years ago may not be as enjoyable now. Case in point, I rate books on Goodreads based on my feelings of the book during and right after reading.  Meaning I may not feel the same way about a book as time goes on. In my opinion, the 5 star rating is not and never will be an accurate representation.

My experience has made me wish people were more decisive. You’re choosing a book, not choosing someone to spend the rest of your life with.

Receiving book recommendations:

I’m open to receiving them so long as the giver doesn’t try to shove it down my throat. In most cases, subtlety is an effective approach. If you really want me to read something, mention it in passing. Do not make the title or author your most used phrase in conversation.

As you can tell, I tend to give book recommendations more than I receive them. Then again, if you think I’ll enjoy a particular story or novel, feel free to let me know.

I can’t think of anything else to add. If or when I do, I’ll be sure to shove it down your throat.

8 thoughts on “How I Feel About Book Recommendations‏

  1. I’ll take any kind of book recommendation. I’m always looking for something different than what I’m used to. My only problem is that I have way too many books on my list to read, lol.

Speak your mind!

