10 Mistakes Beginner Bloggers Tend To Make

By “beginner bloggers” I mean myself obviously. I cannot speak for anyone else.

Below are ten of the biggest mistakes I made when I started this blog over two years ago.

  1. Underestimate the amount of work maintaining a blog takes. I thought writing a blog post would be like eating a piece of cake. It’s sweet when I finally publish a post. Most of the time, I toil away drafting, editing, formatting, etc.
  2. Not have clear goals in mind. I never went in wanting fame or fortune. Still, it would have been nice to set clearer goals so I didn’t have to be flustered every time I had no idea what to do next.
  3. Isolate myself from other bloggers by not commenting and interacting. I regret this. I’m sorry I was such a horrible blogger in the beginning.
  4. Follow back everyone who followed me or liked one of my posts. I followed many blogs and have since diminished the rate at which I click the follow button. Sorry, not sorry. I’m selective, I’m picky, and I can’t possibly keep up with everybody.
  5. Take the important things for granted. You never know what you have and how good you have it until it’s gone.
  6. Refuse to ask for help. Thankfully, some kind souls bestowed their wisdom upon me.
  7. Be impersonal. I must’ve sounded like a human without any personality. Robot Herminia.
  8. Forget to cherish every part of the journey. Time, where have you gone?
  9. Not include visuals or pictures. Because I didn’t make it a habit to, I don’t try as hard now. But I am working on it.
  10. Beat myself up for every mistake. I think I’m getting better at this.

And yes, I still do some of the above.

4 thoughts on “10 Mistakes Beginner Bloggers Tend To Make

  1. Hermenia,
    Thanks for this post! I totally agree with #1, 2 and 4. I also feel relieved and challenged (as appropriate!) by your other comments.

    For me, just being myself took a while. I had to find a blog voice for ‘strangers’ who are ‘friends.’ And not try to be someone I’m not. I’m also working on a saner approach to writing for the blog. It does take an incredible amount of time just to set things up! Thanks for taking the time to put this one together. 🙂

    Elouise

Speak your mind!

