8 Tips On How To Gain (More) Followers

I’ve shied away from doing a post like this for several reasons, which I won’t get into right now.

But someone sent in a question over at my Tumblr blog, asking me for advice on getting followers, so I thought I’d adapt my reply and share my tips here as well.

I didn’t start my blogs with the intention of growing a following or having anyone read my writing. That being said most of us want someone to appreciate our work. I think you really have to enjoy making videos, taking photos, etc., to continue doing it even without a following. If you love the creative process, you’ll not only enjoy blogging a lot more, you’ll also attract like-minded followers.

I don’t claim to have the largest following in the world, but I have come a long way. I remember those days when I had zero followers, which is why I’m grateful to have some now. I’m still trying to wrap my head around why anyone follows any of my blogs. Thank you if you do.

I’m very particular with how I run my blog so I can’t claim to do what most articles or other bloggers will tell you to do. This is what has worked for me. It might not work for you (or you may not agree) so take what does and toss what doesn’t.

  • Post consistently. Aside from rare occasions where I forgot or a technical mishap occurred, I post (original content) at least once every day. Anyhow reblogging (which I don’t do) or anything else that keeps your blog active works as well. You can schedule posts to go out on certain days if you know you’ll be away from your computer and living your life.
  • Post at certain times. I have experimented with this. Frankly, I just post when it suits me best. I will say that posting at a peak time when many bloggers are online means more people have the chance to see your work, although you’ll be competing with more content. Posting at other times when there’s less traffic means fewer eyes stumbling upon your content but a higher chance someone will see your work and share it. If you’re like me in that you don’t care then just post what you like, when you like.
  • Find a niche that will attract an audience. Granted different people will like your blog, but see if you can narrow down who you’re writing for. On the same lines, narrow down your purpose. What do you hope to achieve with your blog?
  • Stand out. Do something or make stuff that people can’t find elsewhereRather than reblog everything I come across, I create my own articles. Post original content whenever you can. When you first start out it’s hard to get noticed. Over time people will.
  • Tag your content with common tags. Obscure tags are funny, but people won’t actively search for them. Come up with relevant and prevalent tags for your posts so more bloggers can find your work.
  • Pay attention to your layout/theme. If your blog is hard to read, hard to navigate, etc., you’ll turn potential followers away. Keep it simple. Keep it neat.
  • Approach others. I’m horrible at striking up conversations in real life and on the Web so I’m a total hypocrite for including this.
  • Be kind to everyone. Respect people even if they don’t respect you.

That’s all you’re going to get from me today.

10 thoughts on “8 Tips On How To Gain (More) Followers

  1. Thanks for the tips! One of the things I’d really like to work on with my blog is to post more frequently. Up until now, I’ve been lucky if I can get in two posts a week. Lots of people have recommended frontloading posts, so when I get some extra time I’m going to try to start doing that. Anyway, you have an excellent, very well-written blog.

  2. Great tips! I’ve been blogging since 2012, but I’m still learning new things here and there. I feel like I’m just starting to get the hang of blogging.

Speak your mind!

