Reading Resolutions 2016

Of all the resolutions I made last year, I stuck with my reading resolutions the most. And while I’m proud of my 2015 reading journey, I’m hoping to feel even prouder in 2016.

  • In an ideal world, I’d read an entire book in a day, but I’ll settle for 15 pages a day. Even on my busiest, craziest days. I have too many of those.
  • For my Goodreads reading challenge, I put down 32 books. I don’t understand people who refuse to read a single book for 365 days. I also can’t wrap my ahead around the fact that some individuals read 500 books in one year. There are three types of readers.
  • I want to touch non-fiction books and actually open them. What a difficult resolution! I’m so hard on myself.

Also, Rachel, Kristen, and I are keeping track of how much we spend on books. You should too if you want to cry on December 31st, 2016.

Happy reading!

Don’t cry too many tears over fictional characters this year.

8 thoughts on “Reading Resolutions 2016

  1. I don’t get how people read 500 books in a year, either. They must not have any other responsibilities, lol.
    I almost bought my first book of the year yesterday! But then I got distracted and had to leave the bookstore because I was running late, lol.

    1. Right? I sometimes wonder if they actually read the entire book.
      I actually bought my first book of 2016 yesterday. And somehow I managed not to buy more. 😉 I need to write down how much I paid before I forget.

  2. If you’re looking for a good non-fiction book, may I suggest Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom? It’s a beautiful story between Albom and one of his old college professors, Morrie, and teaches so many lessons about life. Charming and a bit bittersweet, it was one of, if not the, greatest summer reading book I had been assigned nearly ten years ago. 🙂

    1. Thanks for the recommendation. I need to check out Mitch Albom in general. I’ve heard good things about Tuesdays with Morrie, so I’m happy to hear you enjoyed it.
      Good luck with your reading journey this year!

Speak your mind!

