Current Blogging Problems

I want to get all of this out there, into the world.

I suck at managing my time. Over the past few days and even weeks, I sucked a lot more than I usually do. So I haven’t been spending the quality time I’d like to with this blog.

Also, I’ve had a harder time coming up with ideas. I don’t know why it’s so difficult for me to decide what I want to blog about nowadays.

Worst of all, my perfectionist tendencies loves rearing its ugly head. Maybe I should call it I’m-worried-about-judgement-so I-have-been-censoring-myself-endlessly this month.

I guess I need to make some changes, huh?

19 thoughts on “Current Blogging Problems

  1. I have those problems too. i really have a hard time finding things to blog about.
    you have such great advice for writers though!
    A wonderful blog!
    Dont be too discouraged, and I hope you find your inspiration for your writing so you can continue to inspire us! 🙂

    1. Mhm in a lot of ways, blogging doesn’t get easier.
      Thank you. I’m doing the best I can. And I wish the same for you and everyone else.
      Will do. I appreciate your kind words. Thanks for inspiring me too!

  2. I understand being a perfectionist or just worrying about the quality of your posts in general. (I’m the exact same way, and I’m still struggling with it.) The best thing you can do is say, “I’m human,” do your best, and if you’re still not happy, take a little break and get a fresh mind. I almost always feel better after a break.

    1. Sadly, I don’t think that struggle will go away any time soon. It’s good to remind ourselves that we are all humans at the end of the day. True. Doing something else and stepping back from the page (or blank document) helps.

      1. Oh yeah. I’m certain might won’t go away. But recently, I’ve been trying to think positively. It helps a lot. I think you’re a fabulously active blogger if that counts for anything.

  3. I’m on hiatus from blog posting (I can’t resist commenting on other blogs, though). While I was blogging every week, I was at a loss as to write about a lot of the time.

    Since I’ve stopped, I’ve come up with plenty of ideas. I draft these for when I return. (Okay, maybe it’s not a proper hiatus.)

    Maybe you need to just stop thinking about blogging for a while.

    1. Haha. I think if I took a hiatus, I’d be the same. I would still comment on blogs and interact with other bloggers. Mmhmm.
      Aw it’s like a semi-hiatus.
      True, maybe I do. I hope you enjoy the hiatus (semi-hiatus?) so you can return to blogging with plenty of ideas and inspiration!

  4. When I run out of topics, I find blog comments very helpful. Sometimes the comments and conversations spark New topics.
    Or you could blog draft like crazy about anything and everything, then edit and publish the ones you like later.

    I’m also not sure if you blogged this for suggestions or to vent a spleen. I need more coffee; I am not astute.

    1. I love blog comments. I equally enjoy reading comments left on other bloggers’ posts.
      I try to do that too. Brainstorming sessions are the best.
      A little bit of both I guess. No no you’re plenty astute.

  5. Have a brainstorming session with yourself. There are so many things to discuss when it comes to reading, writing, blogging, or anything else you want to talk about on your blog. Maybe come up with another feature or two.

  6. Whew. Thanks for this post! I feel a lot better! Even though I have plenty to say, it’s hard work to get it in shape and get it out there. I’m not worried if I miss posting now and then. But I don’t know what might help you regain your upbeat confidence.

    I second your friend Rachel’s idea: how about another feature or two? In your wonderfully short, sweet (most of the time!) and to the point posts, of course!

    Personally, I’d like to hear how blogging and the writing you do in other venues (including academic papers) are related and/or unrelated. Do they complement each other or are they such different worlds that you have to shift gears entirely? Not a feature, I know, just something I’d love to hear about.

    You’ll find what you’re looking for. In the meantime, visiting other blogs sounds like a great way to take a breather and enjoy supporting other bloggers. We ALL appreciate the attention! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Elouise

    1. You’re so welcome. It’s nice to know we aren’t alone. Mhm a lot of work goes into saying what we want to say the way we want to say it. I like to think this is just a phase I’m going through.
      Yep haha. I have no intentions to change my blogging style. Ooo interesting. I like your suggestion. Thanks.
      For sure. That’s something I can do!

    1. It’s trite but true: a picture’s worth a thousand words. I wish I was a better photographer so I could take nicer pictures. 😛 You have awesome ones by the way. I don’t have Instagram, but I love seeing them pop up on my Reader.

      1. You don’t have to be a great photographer, all you need to do is take pictures from your own point of view, that is true art. Photography is a important part of blogging.

Speak your mind!

