Perks Of Working From Home

As a writer and blogger, I do plenty of work from home. I don’t make any money, but that’s another story. Talk to me in fifty-eight years. That’s when I hope to have my own home to work from.

Maybe you agree with these perks. Perhaps you’re fortunate enough to relate.

You don’t work for anybody.

Unless you work for somebody from home. Otherwise, you work for yourself.

You won’t see people you hate five days a week.

You could even stare at yourself all day long if you wanted to. Love your reflection. Learn to.

You don’t have to buy pants. 

You could if you wanted to, but how often are you going to wear them anyway?

You laugh at your water bill.

When’s the last time you took a shower? Besides if you don’t wear pants, you don’t need to wash them. No laundry? Yes, please.

You don’t believe in brushing your hair or doing your makeup.

Thank you emails. Thank you social media. Thank you conference calls where you can’t see people and people can’t see you.

You can work at 3 in the morning or 11 at night.

You could work at any and every hour. Who needs sleep when you have work?

You won’t be pushed around, literally.

On the bus or subway. On the sidewalks or roads.

Your office is not a toxic environment.

Hopefully. It’s not like you can talk badly about yourself behind your back.

You can make your own choices.

Talk to yourself to fill the void of voices? Stay silent and never speak? The decision is yours.

Isn’t working from home the best? Don’t bother begging to differ.

10 thoughts on “Perks Of Working From Home

  1. Working from home is the best. I wish I could do it full-time and get paid for it. Though I guess I’m going to have to wait another couple of years.

  2. These have some truth to them…IF you’re working for yourself. I work for a company from home taking calls from people who are applying for life and health insurance, although I also write on the side. As far as these are concerned:

    You don’t have to buy pants. – No you don’t have to, but you probably should, especially during the winter.

    You could if you wanted to, but how often are you going to wear them anyway?

    You laugh at your water bill.

    When’s the last time you took a shower? Besides if you don’t wear pants, you don’t need to wash them. No laundry? Yes, please. – I shower every day, if I didn’t I’d stink horribly.

    You don’t believe in brushing your hair or doing your makeup.

    Thank you emails. Thank you social media. Thank you conference calls where you can’t see people and people can’t see you. – I do still brush my hair, although I don’t wear much make up.

  3. Aw, hopefully you’ll have your own home sooner than 58 years! I bought mine at 23. No student loan debt, admittedly.

    I’m trying to work at home, but I’m not sure how many of these are true 😛 Most freelancers tell me that getting dressed and made-up is still an essential part of their day, because it gets them in the professional mindset. It’s hard to be your own boss sometimes. Takes a lot of discipline.

    1. I can hope. Wow. That’s young. I don’t see myself buying a house at 32 even. Makes sense. Then again I’m such a sloth, I couldn’t be bothered to make my face up or brush my hair on a daily basis. For sure. It’s not for everyone.

      1. I don’t get made up for my normal job now just because I can’t wear my contacts or nice clothes to work anyway – so why bother? And I definitely didn’t bother in college lol.

        I thought it was a long way off too. Even at 21 I was like “maybe in five years”. But then it dawned on me that I’d lose over $60,000 by continuing to rent through my twenties, and that would make a huge dent if it went to a mortgage instead. The only snag is that you really do need a good down payment. We both had pretty nice savings from being debt free and splitting all our expenses, as well as having received pay and stipends during school. But for most people, throwing down $30k when you’re 24 – and *still* having a decent savings cushion after that – is very very hard.

      2. Oh, I see. Yeah I don’t bother looking good for anybody. Maybe down the road I’ll put in more effort, but as of right now, I don’t need to.
        Right. That’s a lot of money to lose out on. Mhm the cost of living is just so high. It’s very hard and tough. I am glad you made it work though.

Speak your mind!

