The Need | A Short Story

She heard a knock. 

“Go away.” Brenda threw a pillow over her head, trying to muffle the sounds.

More knocking. Not any louder but more insistent than the first few.

“Don’t make me say it again,” she said through clenched teeth. “I don’t want to talk to you.”

Three knocks all spaced evenly apart from each other. Brenda tossed the pillow aside, slid her feet into a pair of slippers, and headed for the door. She unlocked it, pulling the door open. Her face fell when she saw who it was. “Oh, it’s you.”

Alexa tried to smile as wide as she could. “Hey, could we talk?”

“I’m not in any mood to talk.” But Brenda pulled the door wider and stepped aside to let Alexa in.

Alexa picked at the loose strands of hair that refused to stay in place in her fishtail braid. Brenda on the other hand did nothing to tame her curly dark hair.

“You don’t have to talk but hear me out, okay?” Alexa leaned against a bare wall, keeping her arms by her side. “He’s proud of you.”

Brenda snorted.

“Really, he is. You’re all Kian talks about.”

“You realize that nothing you say matters, right?”

Alexa flinched but recovered. “I just wanted to let you know.”

“Tell me something I don’t know.” Brenda crossed her arms over her chest.

The two girls studied each other, neither breaking eye contact to look away.

“I’m trying Brenda.”

“I don’t care Alexa.”

“I need him.”

“About as much as I need you.” She shook her head. Her curly hair swayed back and forth.

Alexa pressed her lips together. “He needs me.”

“Don’t get divorced then.” Brenda rolled her eyes. “That’ll be awkward.”

6 thoughts on “The Need | A Short Story

  1. So many questions here! This is really interesting and I enjoyed it.. But I kind of felt that this sentence ‘Brenda on the other hand did nothing to tame her curly dark hair.’ wasn’t really necessary. While I get that you’re trying to portray the character, I don’t think it’s needed, and it kind of felt like it broke the flow a bit. But I’d love to read more!

Speak your mind!

