Why Is Blogging Hard?

Because it is.

And blogging has gotten progressively harder over the years.

For my own sanity, I’m going to attempt to explain why. Key word: attempt.

I’m my own biggest critic. What else is new?

Of course as I grow older, I’ve become an even bigger critic.

I’m a big fan of other bloggers. Sometimes a silent fan but a fan nonetheless.

So while I try not to compare, I still fall victim to it every now and then. Comparing sucks. Don’t go down that hole.

I’m hard on myself. Like that’s news.

It should come as no surprise that I’m harder on myself than I am on anyone else. Than I am on everyone else combined. I set my own standards high because I want to be the best I can be. I don’t want to settle for average or mediocre. I like to think I can do better. And I despise doing anything for the sake of doing it. I hate the idea of doing something half-heartedly. But I’ve been a hypocrite as of late.

Also, I’m annoyingly critical and judgemental when it comes to my own writing. When it comes to any creative pursuit. Maybe that’s why blogging has been tougher these days. Who am I trying to fool? Myself, I guess. I’ve been struggling with my blogs for a while now. It feels like I haven’t been blogging well for months. Maybe as long as a year.

So to think 2016 will be over very soon is bittersweet. I’d like a new start in 2017, but I’d be lying if I said I’m happy with my blogging this year. 

I want to do better. I want to do more. But wanting is only part of the equation. Working is the other, harder part.

7 thoughts on “Why Is Blogging Hard?

  1. Blogging is kind of like a “business” especially whereas we aspire to be full-time write. That’s what makes it hard, I think. But it is fun and you meet a lot of wonderful people and learn so much. You’ll be just fine in 2017. 🙂

  2. Blogging is new to me, and if I were as hard on myself as you are or had such expectations of excellence, I wouldn’t do it. So add “brave” to your other favorable characteristics and know that we, your blogging friends are easily satisfied and not judgmental. That’s not to say that we might not “call you up” on something if necessary. Ha Ha! Know we would care enough to do so were circumstances (or your posts) to warrant it. Have a good Christmas Eve. Like you, I am looking toward 2017 as a new start, a new beginning, and at my age, that’s a great present!!!

    1. If it counts for anything, I think you’re doing a terrific job as a blogger. You got the interaction part down pat. Thanks so much for all your comments and our conversations. I really appreciate it. Likewise. I try not to be judgemental at all on here. Aw, you’re amazing. Same to you. Happy holidays! Wishing you the very best the rest of this year and next.

Speak your mind!

