Books Of The Month | January 2017

Happy Chinese New Year! Happy year of the Rooster. Happy Saturday or Sunday or whenever you happen to be reading this.

As far as I’m concerned, it’s not bad luck or taboo to publish a blog post on the first day of the new year. So that’s what I’m going to do.


What I Finished:

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

heir-of-fire-by-sarah-j-maas

One phrase description:

Like watching a firework show.

Quote:

“You cannot pick and choose what parts of her to love.”

My general thoughts:

I liked it. I didn’t love it. I think that’s because Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight spoiled me. I enjoyed the characters, both old and new. Also, the third book is longer than the other two, so there was more room for character development. Which I’m all for.

I’m looking forward to continuing with the series. The plot intrigues me, the characters are fun to follow around, and the writing is well done.


A Matter of Style by Matthew Clark

a-matter-of-style-by-matthew-clark

One phrase description:

Like listening to a lecture on writing.

Quote:

“But knowledge does not have to be conscious to be effective.”

My general thoughts:

This was a course text that I told myself I would read for fun, on my own time. Technically my professor assigned certain pages to read prior to class. But being the rebel I am, I didn’t. So while I read the book after the fact, everything I learned in those lectures came rushing back.

Still, the short book made me think differently about writing. About word choice and sentence structure and everything else in between.


The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

the-brothers-karamazov-by-fyodor-dostoyevsky

One phrase description:

Like being in a tunnel and not seeing the light at the end of it. 

Quote:

“Do not be upset with people, do not take offense at their wrongs.”

My general thoughts:

It’s a long novel. But a good one. If not for my English course, I don’t think I would’ve ever picked this up. And even if I did, I would’ve abandoned it.

The characters grew on me, especially the three brothers. The second half of the novel appealed to me more. I felt as though the first half had more talking, the second more doing. As much as I love words, I’m a fan of action. 


What I’m Currently Reading:

The Winner by David Baldacci

the-winner-by-david-baldacci

First impressions:

It’s not the best Baldacci book I’ve read. But I’m interested in the plot more than anything. I want to know what happens next.


What I Want To Read Next Month:

All the Rage by Courtney Summers

all-the-rage-by-courtney-summers

Why: 

A friend recommended it.


As always, all affiliate links take you to Book Depository.

Here’s to an awesome year of reading!

8 thoughts on “Books Of The Month | January 2017

  1. A Matter of Style sounds interesting! I’m all for more books about writing.

    I read a Throne of Glass, and I wasn’t too impressed. The writing was good, but the main character I wasn’t too thrilled with (although I loved that she was such a big reader herself) and I wasn’t a fan of the love-triangle. I believe I was more intrigued with the side characters, enough so that I would have preferred the book to be more about them. I may still pick up the sequels at some point, perhaps from the library rather than give them a permanent place on my bookshelf, but they’re not a priority.

    Sounds like a great month of reads, though! Thanks for sharing!

    1. Mhm, same here. The book offers many examples of passages from other books.
      Aw, I see. I think I felt the same way. I’m never a big fan of love triangles in general. But the side characters made the first book for me. Eventually I came to like the protagonist more. If you ever do, let me know how you like the other novels. They’re quite different from the first.
      It was. Thank you for reading.

  2. This was a delightful post and excellent reviews. There is an old superstition that says what you do on the first day of the New Year, you will do any times over in the coming year. As your reader, I hope this is true.

Speak your mind!

