Types Of Rejection

The pleasant kind.

Or as pleasant as rejection can be. Polite emails and letters from people rejecting my work will be the death of me. 

The implied: you’re good but not good enough. 

Keep writing. You’ll only get better.

The one you never saw coming.

Because you submitted the piece years ago and worked on so many other projects since then.

The short and sweet: this isn’t right for us, but try somewhere else.

You aren’t going to give up, are you?

The one you run into yourself.

Uh…I’m not just talking about rejections related to writing now. 

6 thoughts on “Types Of Rejection

  1. I’m pretty sure I’ve had all these before. I submitted a poem somewhere once and I heard back from them a whole year later. When I got the letter in the mail I had no clue what it was because I totally forgot I submitted anything to them in the first place.

  2. This is a hard subject to write on for one so young, for a long life is full of different kinds of rejections. It’s not getting a rejection (of any kind)that matters, but how you handle it. Your cheerleader here is impressed enough to think you can handle whatever comes “atcha”! Ha!

Speak your mind!

