A Reminder And A Liar | A Short Story

We embraced each other.

“I haven’t seen you in forever.”

“It’s only been four months, thirteen days, and eight hours,” Maya remarked.

I pulled back, not surprised she knew down to the hour long long we haven’t seen each other. “Well, it’s good to finally see you.”

She chuckled, as if what I said was funny. “How are you, Lu?”

No one else calls me Lu except my best friend. Lucy is my real name. “I’ve missed you.”

“What’s to miss?” Grinning, Maya shrugged and turned her palms upwards towards the ceiling.

I held back a laugh but allowed myself a small smile. “Did you miss me by any chance?”

“No.”

“What do you mean no?”

Again she chuckled, the corners of her eyes crinkling. “I’m just messing with you, Lu.”

“I know.” My dark eyes fell to the ground.

“What’s wrong? You look like something’s bothering you.”

“Nothing,” I said quicker than I intended.

“So there is something you aren’t telling me.” She gripped my arm, her nails digging into my skin lightly. “You’re keeping secrets now, huh?”

I shrugged her hand off my arm. “It’s nothing Maya, really. It’s nothing.”

“You’re lying.”

“Is it that obvious?”

“You always repeat yourself when you do. Like you’re trying to convince yourself to believe the lie is true.”

I nodded once. “You remind me of him, that’s all.”

12 thoughts on “A Reminder And A Liar | A Short Story

Speak your mind!

