My Reading Problem

I read a lot of books when I was younger. But I don’t remember everything I read in my lifetime, especially as a child.

So now sometimes I’ll come across a book and wonder if I read it. Then I think to myself if I did, surely I would’ve remembered reading the book. Unfortunately, my memory sucks. But you already knew that.

At least now I have Goodreads. I can’t believe I only started tracking what I read in 2015.

So what did I read in 2005 when I was eight years old? It pains me to say I’ll never be able to answer that question.

11 thoughts on “My Reading Problem

  1. What did we do without Goodreads?
    Seriously, I think the same thing. There are so many books I probably read and have reread not remembering. There are certain ones I remember, but not many.

  2. There are some books I read when I was eight years old that I still remember the titles of or at least what they were about. One of my pleasures at 72 is to read them again, and I find I enjoy them all over again, sometimes with a slightly different perspective.
    Along that angle, I read Catcher in the Rye when it was first published. I was in high school and I sided totally with Holden Caufield against his parents and the world in general. When I re read it in graduate school in a course in Adolescent Literature, I wanted to put him over my knee and paddle him. I was 40 then. Ha Ha!

    1. Mmm you have a great memory then, unlike me. Haha. Revisiting books you’ve already read is such a joy.
      Oh, that’s hilarious. I read Catcher in the Rye for school. But I hear where you’re coming from. I didn’t quite appreciate the novel the first time around. Though if I ever get a chance to reread it, I’m sure I’ll see things in a new light. Guess it’s true what they say: you never read the same book twice.

Speak your mind!

