On Learning Grammar

When I’m learning grammar, I feel smart and stupid at the same time. Smart because I like to think I have some knowledge about pronoun antecedent agreement, dangling modifiers, possessives, etc. But stupid because I don’t know everything.

There’s an annoying part of me that expects my small brain to know everything, especially when it comes to anything related to syntax or morphology. That part is also responsible for making me feel like I have to be perfect all the time. Guess what? I’m not. What a surprise.

She’s just going to have to accept my faulty judgement and erroneous ways.

4 thoughts on “On Learning Grammar

  1. “…I have to be perfect all the time.” You’ll grow out of that, the years will trim the sails, but the fact you recognise it early in life is a decided advantage.
    I admire your directness and honesty, Herminia

    Best to you

    john

    1. Ah, I certainly hope so. I think I’ve gotten better at not being so hard on myself and expecting perfection all the time. Thank you for your insight.
      All the best, John!

  2. You know, I always feel smart and dumb too. I know most of the rules but when someone says “conjunction” I always say, “what’s that?” Even though I know what it is, but I don’t know the terminology, lol.

    1. That’s understandable. I think most of the time, grammar is quite intuitive if you have a good grasp of the English language. It’s like you might not know the name of the rule or why something’s wrong. But you know how to apply the rule or what’s wrong.

Speak your mind!

