An Outsider | A Short Story

I scan the room with my brown eyes, stopping at two persons of interest.

One has his hair gelled and parted to the right. I can’t help but wonder how long he took to get ready this morning. He sits with his back straight. I think his good posture is a way of radiating confidence. He smiles, but it looks more like a smirk.

Beside him sits his friend. She has light blonde hair, blue eyes, and pale skin that stands out in the dark room.

I watch as the discussion unfolds, never offering an opinion. They watch each other. But I watch them.

Out of instinct, I bend over to make my already small body take up even less space.

I sense the energy between the two teens. I doubt they notice me. I try not to draw much attention.

To be fair, I’m not trying to appear interesting. I wear plain clothes. I  keep my hair down, cut at average length. I do what I can to get by.

But I don’t understand something. On the outside, I’m not different from anyone else. Inside, I feel like an outsider.

6 thoughts on “An Outsider | A Short Story

  1. I liked this piece a great deal. It is almost sad, at least empathetic, yet not maudlin or invoking pity. Shows your great sense of balance as well as your skill at conveying subtle emotions.

Speak your mind!

