10 Blogging Don’ts

As if I’m in any position to tell you what not to do as a blogger. My lack of authority is not going to stop me.

  1. Don’t be someone you aren’t. Be yourself. Be true to who you are. Be every other cliché I could throw at you but won’t because I’m considerate.
  2. Don’t isolate yourself. Ill be the first to admit that I did this when I first started out. Don’t be like me. You aren’t on an island. You’re part of a community, an amazing one. So enjoy the company. Comment. Engage. Interact. Most important of all, be kind to others. You’d be amazed.
  3. Don’t become a jerk. I like to think you aren’t a jerk and won’t become one. Stay awesome.
  4. Don’t compare. First, we’re all amazing in our own way. Second, you aren’t anyone else. So stop comparing yourself to someone else, to everyone else.
  5. Don’t worry more than you work. Worrying accomplishes nothing. It just wastes time. Time you could spend working. Getting real important stuff done.
  6. Don’t neglect your needs. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: You’re a human being, not a machine. Eat healthy. Drink water. Sleep enough. Exercise often. By taking care of both your brain and body, you’ll be a better blogger. 
  7. Don’t make excuses. Easier said than done, I know. But it can be done.
  8. Don’t force yourself to do anything you don’t want to. It’s okay to put your foot down. It’s okay to say no. It’s okay to do the things you want to do. 
  9. Don’t lie or hide.  Please and thank you.
  10. Don’t do everything else except blog. You’re a blogger. Blog.

You’ll be happier if you don’t listen to me.

13 thoughts on “10 Blogging Don’ts

  1. This post is full of good advice. My favorite you mentioned was, Don’t worry. I read in my favorite inspirational author’s book (not sure which one–I’ve read them all) that 85% of what we worry about never comes to pass. Many times I find myself worrying about nothing, or even worrying that I have nothing to worry about, and wondering when the hammer will fall! Ha Ha!

  2. It’s hard not to compare though. You see someone with over a thousand comments and likes each and you wonder what they are doing right and you’re not.
    Also book bloggers have amazing pictures of the books their reading and tons of constant reviews. I can’t help but want to do the same.

    But you’re right.

    1. Yeah, it’s tough. I wonder that as well. I keep thinking what do I need to do. But at the end of the day, numbers aren’t everything.
      Mmm I want to get into reviewing books. Maybe you should too. 🙂

      1. Haha I already review books but I don’t have the time that some of the book bloggers seem to have. Who reads 30 books in a month!?!?

        Also, numbers are nice but yeah they aren’t everything.

      2. I guess just read and review as much as you can then. Aha, I don’t know how people read so much.
        Exactly. I don’t really check my stats.

  3. I love this!! “Do and don’t” lists are often bossy, arbitrary rules, but this one is thoughtful and encouraging. I needed to hear a lot of these as a relatively new blogger. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Speak your mind!

