How To Decide What To Read Next

Let’s set the scene, shall we? 

You start a book. You finish it. Then you’re faced with the dilemma of deciding what to read next.

I feel your pain. Too many books and too little time means I’ve been struggling my whole life.

Don’t worry. Next time, you can always:

Roll a dice. Especially great if you have a selection of six books to choose from. Number each one and get rolling. It’s not so great if you’re a normal human being with an insanely long to-be-read list.

Ask a friend. Useful when you trust your friend’s judgement, and you’re in dire need of a good recommendation. Not helpful when said friend is drunk, and doesn’t read much or at all while sober. In which case you need new friends. I’m kidding.

Read a review. Unsure about a book? Find a review or two. Unsure about ten billion books? I guess you’ll be spending a few decades reading reviews then. At least when you’re done, you’ll have a better idea of what to pick up? Or maybe you won’t. Then you’re back where you began. It’s not a bad place to be.

So how are you going to decide what book you’ll read next?

    16 thoughts on “How To Decide What To Read Next

    1. Ha! Great post! I find myself sat on the floor of my office, picking up books and reading the first line. When I realise I’ve read ten pages of a book instead of the first line, that’s the one I go for!

      That said, I have many books where I’ve read the first line so many times and never got past it! I do still hope to read them one day!

      1. Thank you. That’s something I do in bookstores or libraries. Read the first line and see if it interests me. Sometimes I’ll open a book to a random page.
        Maybe one day you’ll get past the first line and find you love that book. 🙂

    2. I pick what to read next by whichever room I am in. I have a book going in the bedroom, living room, guest bedroom (where I go when My Better Half snores and wakens me)and in the car for when I have to wait. Yes, I may have four books going at the same time. LOL

    Speak your mind!

    