How To Decide What To Read Next

Let’s set the scene, shall we? 

You start a book. You finish it. Then you’re faced with the dilemma of deciding what to read next.

I feel your pain. Too many books and too little time means I’ve been struggling my whole life.

Don’t worry. Next time, you can always:

Roll a dice. Especially great if you have a selection of six books to choose from. Number each one and get rolling. It’s not so great if you’re a normal human being with an insanely long to-be-read list.

Ask a friend. Useful when you trust your friend’s judgement, and you’re in dire need of a good recommendation. Not helpful when said friend is drunk, and doesn’t read much or at all while sober. In which case you need new friends. I’m kidding.

Read a review. Unsure about a book? Find a review or two. Unsure about ten billion books? I guess you’ll be spending a few decades reading reviews then. At least when you’re done, you’ll have a better idea of what to pick up? Or maybe you won’t. Then you’re back where you began. It’s not a bad place to be.

So how are you going to decide what book you’ll read next?

    Advertisements

    16 thoughts on “How To Decide What To Read Next

    1. Ha! Great post! I find myself sat on the floor of my office, picking up books and reading the first line. When I realise I’ve read ten pages of a book instead of the first line, that’s the one I go for!

      That said, I have many books where I’ve read the first line so many times and never got past it! I do still hope to read them one day!

      1. Thank you. That’s something I do in bookstores or libraries. Read the first line and see if it interests me. Sometimes I’ll open a book to a random page.
        Maybe one day you’ll get past the first line and find you love that book. 🙂

    2. I pick what to read next by whichever room I am in. I have a book going in the bedroom, living room, guest bedroom (where I go when My Better Half snores and wakens me)and in the car for when I have to wait. Yes, I may have four books going at the same time. LOL

    Speak your mind!

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

    WordPress.com Logo

    You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

    Connecting to %s