Why I Love Reading

Why do I love to read? Where do I begin?

I love stories. It’s fun to read and experience them.

I like not knowing what to expect, especially when I’m reading a new book from an author I’m unfamiliar with.

I enjoy being surprised along the way. I get such a kick out of thinking through possible scenarios in my head and seeing if they play out in the book.

I love escaping a world that isn’t always pleasant and exploring a new one.

It’s fun to meet characters I can relate to. I love some and hate others. The ones I remember, for one reason or another, are special. They become a part of me.

I love learning. Through books I can learn about anything and everything. History and science. Animals and sports. New words and old ones. The English language. French. German. Latin. 

I have learned about the world I live in currently and the world I want to live in. 

And I’ve discovered a great deal about myself. Who I am, who I want to be. What I value, what I believe in. 

Thanks to reading, I have a better understanding of different kinds of people. 

Books have taught me to see that regardless of a person’s skin colour or sexual orientation, human beings are human.

I hope I always love books, stories, words.

I hope you do too.

Why do you love reading?

9 thoughts on “Why I Love Reading

  1. 1.) Personal and Professional Growth – Reading helps me grow as a person, expanding my views in life, affecting my every personal and professional decisions.

    2.) Leadership Booster – I believe that great leaders are great readers. The more you read and apply what you read in your life, the better you lead.

    3.) Boredom Buster – It sets me free from boredom. I am able to use my time wisely and productively.

    4.) Communication Skills Enhancer – Reading widens my expertise as a wordsmith, which I use in writing in and outside the workplace, for my online blogging, and for writing encouraging notes to family and friends.

    1. Well said. I couldn’t agree more.
      Reading can have such a huge impact on people’s personal and professional development.
      I think so too. I look up to a lot of people who read. It’d be interesting to study leaders who read and compare them to leaders who don’t.
      I wouldn’t know what to do with my time if books didn’t exist.
      And your communication skills shine!

  2. Guys!! I totally agree with each one of you. Same are my feelings & thoughts as far as reading is concerned. It just acts as a stress-buster and mood-transformer for me. I start disliking if I stop reading for a few days at a stretch. Habit of reading should be cultivated on a regular basis in order to get its sweeter fruits with time.

    1. Exaxtly. It’s relaxing and helps to relieve stress. I feel like I’d get grumpy or cranky if I couldn’t read for a long period of time. Mhm, I try to read a little every day. It adds up over time.

Speak your mind!

