Raging Fire | A Short Story

Adam shook his head, his dark eyes watching her. “I thought this was important to you.” After a slight pause, he lowered his voice and added, “but I guess I was wrong.”

She shot a dirty look at him.

Holding up his hands, his lips pulled down into a frown. “Show me you care then, Jessie.”

Her blue eyes darkened like the sky whenever a cloud conceals the sun. 

“You used to care, remember? Way back when. You put your heart and soul into this. And now…” Adam didn’t finish his sentence. He didn’t need to. Jessie knew what he would’ve said, could fill in the blanks herself.

“Like you’re one to tell me how to live my life,” she spat under her breath.

To her surprise, he chuckled at her comment. “You haven’t changed one bit.”

She remained silent. 

Adam splayed his hands out in front of him. “Seriously what happened to your fire, your passion?”

Her lips came together to form a thin line. “I don’t know.”

Adam placed a hand on her arm. She didn’t pull away.

“I’ve lost it.”

A moment of hesitation. “Well, you can find it again,” Adam said. 

“What if I never had passion to begin with?” Jessie shut her eyes for a few seconds, squeezing them hard. “You can’t lose what you don’t have.”

He folded his arms across his chest, regarding her closely. “Do you really believe that? You were the most dedicated of them all.”

“I’m not anymore.”

This time he put both his hands on either of her arms. Jessie stood as still as a statue, staring straight into Adam’s brown eyes.

“The fire is there. I know it. You know it. You have a passion that no one can rival. That fire isn’t dying anytime soon. You won’t let it die, Jess.”

“How can you be so sure?” She started to bite her lower lip.

Adam gave a small smile. “Because I’ve seen the fire.”

8 thoughts on “Raging Fire | A Short Story

Speak your mind!

