My Blogging Journey

One evening after school in 2013, I started a blog. I was only 15 years old. At the time, I had no idea how much this decision would change my life.

I created this blog on April 1st, 2013. I published my first post on April 2nd. And I haven’t looked back since. 

I had no idea what I was doing at first. All I knew was that I enjoyed writing, so I thought blogging wouldn’t be too bad. I’m happy to say I’ve been pleasantly surprised. This experience has exceeded my expectations. 

I still remember brushing my teeth one night in 2013 and being so excited. Excited I published a blog post that day. Excited for what I’d write tomorrow, the day after, etc.

For some reason, 15 year old me wanted to try to publish a post every day. I still attempt to. It hasn’t always been easy. But I like the challenge. 

Early on, I blogged for myself. I wrote posts I wanted to write. I felt passionate about what I created. 

Blogging brought me more joy and happiness and satisfaction than I ever experienced before. 

But then things changed. I wasn’t as excited anymore. I didn’t feel as happy, as satisfied.

I spent less time blogging. I put off working on posts until later in the day.

It took a lot of time for me to figure things out. I did plenty of soul searching in the past couple of years.

There were times I wanted to quit, give up. Stop blogging completely. I used to wonder why I even started, why I ever bothered.

I don’t know how many times I’ve said I wanted to take a break from blogging. But every time I tried to go on an extended hiatus, I kept coming back to this blog.

I pushed through it. The doubts and fears. The failures and mistakes.

I learned along the way. I hope I never stop learning. 

Those tough days and hard times made me appreciate the good ones that much more.

When I first started, I took things for granted. Things like comments, likes, followers. I didn’t think twice of it.

But then the comments and likes and followers died down. It bothered me more than I’d like to admit.

I became obsessed with numbers, stats. I didn’t get why people weren’t liking or commenting as much.

At some point, I realized I was taking more than I gave back.

For the first few months, I isolated myself. Imagine a young girl blogging on an island.

I didn’t reach out to other bloggers.

But when I finally started to interact and connect with people, I fell in love with blogging all over again.

Whenever I felt uninspired or not motivated in the least, I would read blog posts from bloggers I followed. I used to follow everyone who followed my blog. Nowadays I follow bloggers I genuinely like and look up to.

I saw such great content from everyone else and felt inspired to create good content. Not just for other people but for myself.

Slowly, I stopped caring about stats. I checked the number of views and visitors less frequently. I disabled likes for my posts.

I wanted to care about the content I created. I’d rather care too much than not care at all.

I told myself to focus on the journey, not the destination. Work hard. Work smart. But also I kept reminding myself to trust the process. The results will come.

I’m not a patient person. Blogging has helped me delay instant gratification for long term satisfaction.

Besides, I’m fortunate enough to be able to read and write and blog. Sometimes I don’t appreciate how lucky I truly am.

19 year old me is still just as stubborn as 15 year old me, perhaps even more so. Still, blogging made me let down my defences. Little by little, I opened my mind to new things and different people. 

I’m not the same blogger I was way back when I first started. I like to think I’m better.

All this being said, I can’t imagine doing the last four years of my life without blogging.

I wouldn’t be the human being I am today if not for being a blogger. 

In spite of all the bad or maybe because of it, this has been such an incredible journey.

Thank you. From the bottom of my heart and the deepest archives of this blog, thank you so much.

5 thoughts on “My Blogging Journey

  1. This was so sweet, Herminia. I’m glad you started blogging and never gave up because you’re wonderful at it and at writing. And we never would have met. 🙂

Speak your mind!

