Reading

Little Secrets – Jennifer Hillier | A Book Review

Little Secrets - Jennifer Hillier

Title: Little Secrets

Author: Jennifer Hillier

Genre: Mystery Thriller

About the book: It’s a standalone about a family whose world falls apart when their son Sebastian gets abducted. A year later, the search has gone cold. Marin hires a private investigator to find her son, but she learns that Derek is cheating on her with a younger woman. Marin has lost her son, and she doesn’t want to lose her husband too.

First impressions: The premise sounded intriguing, so I thought the story would be right up my alley. I like how it starts, and I was curious to see what would happen.

Characters: The story mainly revolves around how Marin handles the kidnapping of her son and her husband’s affair. While I could understand the characters’ motivations shortcomings, I wish they were more likeable.

Quote:

“That hope is what keeps you stuck inside the emotional nothingness of waiting, where you can’t move forward and you can’t go back.”

Writing: The book isn’t too short or too long at about 350 pages. The story went in a different direction than I expected. I thought it would focus more on the missing child and the search for him instead of the affair. The author explores different emotions like anger, grief, jealousy, and more.

Final thoughts: I think the ending is befitting of the book. As there aren’t a lot of characters, it’s not that difficult to predict the ending. Even though I wasn’t surprised by the twist, I was still entertained. It’s a quick but dark read that made for a fun escape from reality. If you’re a fan of psychological thrillers with morally grey characters, check out Little Secrets.

Speak your mind!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.