Reading

Light Bringer – Pierce Brown | A Book Review

Light Bringer - Pierce Brown

Title: Light Bringer

Author: Pierce Brown

Genre: Science Fiction

About the book: It’s the sixth book in the Red Rising series that follows Darrow who finds himself marooned far from home on Mercury. He longs to return to home to his wife Virginia and defend Mars from Lysander. Darrow journeys home on an interplanetary adventure where old friends reunite, new alliances are forged, and rivals clash on the battlefield.

First impressions: I love the series, so I was excited to read Light Bringer. As it’s been a few years since I read the fifth book, I spent some time familiarizing myself with the characters and remembering what happened. The pacing is slower at the start, but it picks up.

Characters: I found myself referencing the dramatis personae to refresh my memory of all the characters and their relationships with others. While I love some people, I hate others with a passion. I enjoyed the different storylines and seeing everyone’s development.

Quote:

“Nothing makes people fall apart like fear, or come together like hope.”

Writing: The book is a little over 675 pages with multiple points of view. It’s interesting to follow Darrow, Lysander, Lyria, and Virginia. I like the balance between deep, dark scenes and fun, funny moments.

Final thoughts: The pacing picks up in the second half of the novel. I love the emotional contrast of violent battles with beautiful conversations. The ending is well-written and fast paced. It sets the stage for the final book in the series. If you’re looking for a science fiction space opera, I highly recommend reading Light Bringer.

3 thoughts on “Light Bringer – Pierce Brown | A Book Review

  1. I’ve seen this one but never ordered it. After your great review, II may attempt to read it. am glad the review wasn’t another Baldacchi or another thriller. I do so enjoy your to-the-point reviews.

    Liked by 1 person

Speak your mind!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.