Reading

Short Story Share

I often write about reading and when I do, the posts tend to be centered around books. What doesn’t get as much recognition, sadly, are short stories. In fact, some people consider them to be dying. So even though I can’t revive the form on my own, I figured I’d share a short story I read and enjoyed. Also, it may or may not be a feature I bring back whenever I read a piece I can rave for days about.

Now I don’t normally recommend products or services on this blog. And even when I do, I do so honestly. Besides this isn’t much of a recommendation. The post is called ‘Short Story Share’ for a reason.

I’ve been rambling because I’m writing this on the subway. Forgive me.

It’s called “The Turing Test”. Google it. There’s a whole different kind of story behind the concept. Wikipedia has a better explanation than anything I could write. Chris Beckett, a science fiction author, wrote the piece.

Since this happened to be an assigned reading for a class, I didn’t think I’d enjoy it. That isn’t to say I haven’t liked anything I had to read for school. I just lower my expectations so I’m not terribly disappointed. So reading through the entire story during my commute, which can be very distracting, is impressive enough. I don’t know whether I’m more proud of myself or the author. Okay okay. The author wins.

Without giving away too much, which is something I’m prone to do, the story revolves around technology, humanity, and how implications of the former affect relationships of the latter.

Not only am I terribly wordy on the subway, I also fail at reducing confusion.

This post looks insanely long on my phone so if you had the patience to sit through it all, without skipping a single word, I applaud you. Some day I shall reward you generously.

8 thoughts on “Short Story Share

Speak your mind!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.